September Updates – What’s new and upcoming?

Hey everybody! It’s been so long since I posted! Bad book kitty!! 😉

 

I just wanted to write a quick note and let you all know what’s been going on in my book world. I’ve got a lot of exciting things upcoming, and I want to make sure you don’t miss out on all the great novels that will soon be coming your way! If you’re not on my newsletter yet, you can join that HERE (just click on the free book bundle). But here are some special updates about your favorites, and new stuff that’s brewing inside my head and in my Scrivener (my book drafting software). Hang on, because here we go!

 

The Kingsmen Chronicles:

 

These are my favorite, and I hope yours, too. I began this epic fantasy adventure series as a way to create a super-mature and really gritty but completely magical fantasy environment, and it’s been a big success overall. BLACKMARK (KC#1) now has over 100 reviews on Amazon with a 4.6-star average! And BLOODMARK (KC#2) is doing well since it’s release in March, averaging a whopping 4.8-stars!! BLACKMARK (KC#1) is now free across all platforms, including iBooks and Kobo, and is being downloaded internationally in six different countries!

 

And… GOLDENMARK (KC#3) is on it’s way! I’m working hard on the initial manuscript, with over 125K words written right now, I’m about halfway. Like BLOODMARK, it’s going to be a monster! Big magic, bigger battles, heartbreak, and conflict galore but with an even tighter narrative – it’s my favorite so far. I’ve seen the first proof of the cover from my artist (the amazingly talented Clarissa at Yocla Designs), and it’s stunning – just like her covers for the rest of the series. My heart is set on a March 2018 release, and I’m pretty sure I can make it! Writing 50K words a month for two more months, and then edit it up. I’ll be calling for fan beta-readers by January, so keep a weather eye out! If you want to be one of those people, you can join my super-awesome Launch Team.

 

Devil’s Angel Series: (was the Book of Truth series)

 

You’ve been hearing whispers about it in my newsletter – now read the blurb!

 

She’s a gunslinging whorehouse madam hiding from the law. He’s a mean cuss of a fallen angel, sworn to wreck vengeance on those who wronged him. Thrown together by bad luck, they team up to outgun hunt-men and take vengeance on old enemies. And through the blood and ashes, they’ll find the only thing they respect more than fast draws, bloody kills, and the sweet Whore of Death – each other.

 

This fast-paced dark fantasy romance series from award-winning author Jean Lowe Carlson explores a mean and bloody world of treachery, passion, sex, and devilish magic. Readers who enjoy Stephen King’s The Dark Tower, Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander, Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series, or the TV show Westworld will love this fast-shooting adventure.

 

This is dark fantasy to the max. Faster paced than the Kingsmen Chronicles, with a little bit of romance, a lot of shootouts, plus badasses, sex, cussing, and all the adventure you can handle. Oh, yeah – and did I mention evil angels and honorable assassins? 😉 I’m writing hard on the first book, SIXGUN, to deliver it to you sometime next summer, and maybe even drop with the second novel, SCYTHE, in tow so you get a fun 1-2 punch. This series will probably be 3-6 novels, and I’m eager to get it out to you soon. The cover is already being created, so stay tuned!

 

Scion of Khehem: (Prequel to the Kingsmen Chronicles)

 

Yes. More. The Kingsmen Chronicles world will eventually have 9 novels, plus some stand-alones. I’m already working on fleshing out the prequel series (3 books), which is all about the fall of Khehem in the Twelve Tribes, and the fate of the tyrant King Leith Alodwine – origin of the Alodwine clan. Set one thousand years before the Kingsmen Chronicles begin, this will be a fallen world with big magic that is about to come crashing down to terrible destruction. Darkness consumes, heroes are born, and the desert will burn. I’ll get started writing on this more heavily when GOLDENMARK is finished, the first novel probably to release in spring of 2019.

 

Whew! That’s it for now. I better get writing! Happy Saturday all – and happy reading!!

Jean

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *